## OFFICIAL YEAR BOOK

#### OF THE

## COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA, 1929,

### AND EARLIER YEARS.

### CHAPTER I.

# DISCOVERY, COLONIZATION, AND FEDERATION OF AUSTRALIA.

### § 1. General.

Previous issues of the Official Year Book contained in this Chapter some account of the traditional ideas regarding the existence of a "Terra Australis," together with brief details relating to the discovery and annexation of the Australian continent, but it is not proposed to repeat this information in the present volume.

### § 2. Establishment of the Commonwealth of Australia.

1. General.—On the 1st January, 1901, the six colonies (now known as States) and the Northern Territory were federated under the name of the "Commonwealth of Australia." The dates of creation and the areas of its component parts, as determined on the final adjustment of their boundaries, are shown in the following table :---

THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.—AREA, ETC., OF COMPONENT PARTS.

State.	Year of Formation into Separate Colony.	Present Area in Square Miles.	State.	Year of Formation into Separate Colony.	Present Area in Square Miles.
New South Wales(a) Victoria	1851	310,372(a) 87,884 670,500	Tasmania Northern Territory	1825 1863	26,21 <b>5</b> 523,620
Queensland South Australia Western Australia	1839 1834 1829	380,070 975,920	(b)Area of the Com- monwealth	••	2,974,581

(a) On the 1st January, 1911, the Federal Capital Territory embracing an area of 912 square miles was taken over by the Commonwealth from the State of New South Wales, and on 12th July, 1915, assent was given to an Act taking over a further area of 2S square miles at Jervis Bay; the area of that State therefore is now 309,432 square miles.

(b) The present Dominion of New Zealand became a separate colony in 1841. The addition of its area, 103,862 square miles, to the total shown in the table above, gives a total for Australasia of 3,078,443 square miles.

C.5408.

۵

2. Transfer of the Northern Territory to the Commonwealth.—On the 7th December, 1907, the Commonwealth and the State of South Australia entered into an agreement for the surrender to and acceptance by the Commonwealth of the Northern Territory, subject to approval by the Parliaments of the Commonwealth and the State. This approval was given by the South Australian Parliament under the Northern Territory Surrender Act 1907 (assented to on the 14th May, 1908), and by the Commonwealth Parliament under the Northern Territory Acceptance Act 1910 (assented to on the 16th November, 1910). The Territory accordingly was transferred to the Commonwealth by proclamation on the 1st January, 1911.

3. Transfer of the Federal Capital Territory to the Commonwealth.—On the 18th October, 1909, the Commonwealth and the State of New South Wales entered into an agreement for the surrender to and acceptance by the Commonwealth of an area of 912 square miles as the seat of Government of the Commonwealth. In December, 1909, Acts were passed by the Commonwealth and New South Wales Parliaments approving the agreement, and on the 5th December, 1910, a proclamation was issued vesting the Territory in the Commonwealth on and from the 1st January, 1911. By the Jervis Bay Territory Acceptance Act 1915, which was assented to on 12th July, 1915, an area of 28 square miles at Jervis Bay, surrendered by New South Wales according to an agreement made in 1913, was accepted by the Commonwealth.

4. Transfer of British New Guinea or Papua.—Under the administration of the Commonwealth, but not included in it, is British New Guinea or *Papua*, finally annexed by the British Government in 1884. This territory was for a number of years administered by the Queensland Government, but was transferred to the Commonwealth by proclamation on the 1st September, 1906, under the authority of the Papua Act (Commonwealth) of 16th November, 1905. The area of Papua is about 90,540 square miles.

5. Transfer of Norfolk Island.—Although administered for many years by the Government of New South Wales, this island was, until 1st July, 1914, a separate Crown colony. On that date it was taken over by the Federal Parliament as a territory of the Commonwealth.

### § 3. The Exploration of Australia.

A fairly complete, though brief, account of the Exploration of Australia was given in Year Book No. 2 (pp. 20 to 39), and a summary of the more important facts relating to the subject was embodied in this Chapter in succeeding issues, but it has been decided to omit this information from the present volume.

### § 4. The Constitutions of the States and of the Commonwealth.

Information regarding the development of the Constitutions of the various Colonies (now States), together with a brief history of the Federal movement in Australia, were embodied in this Chapter in preceding issues of the Official Year Book. In later issues, also, "The Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act" was printed in extenso. This information cannot, however, be repeated in the present issue.